My farewell to tacos

My friends, this is a sad day. Tomorrow I am beginning P90X, and along with this new workout regimen comes new eating habits. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m psyched to start eating healthy. There are just some food habits I’m having a hard time letting go of.

Like tacos.

The first week I came to Chapman I was introduced to a magical place called Taqueria De Anda. All the other tacos in my life were instantly forgotten. The word taco no longer meant crunchy yellow shells, translucent lettuce, and sketchy ground beef. I had met my taco soulmate, and there was no going back.

At Taqueria, they make tacos that are the size of your fist. They are in soft, small, flour tortillas and smothered in onions and cilantro. I have easily eaten six in one go.

Just look at these bad boys.

So last night we visited Taqueria for the last time. The take out menu seemed to glow with a little less brightness, and the chicken shaped jungle gym sat abandoned and empty. The man who handed us our food did so with the gleam of rejection in his eye. I had to brush away a tear as I put my horchata in it’s cup holder for the last time.

I felt like such a traitor.

There is just something so comforting about these tacos. They come with their own little chunks of lime, and an excessive amount of salsa. When you eat them, you make this face:

Our first kiss

So it is with a heavy heart and a spicy mouth that I bid farewell to one of my great loves. Tacos, you have always been there for me. I will always care about you, but I think we need to start seeing other people. I love you, I’m just not in love with you.

I hope we can still be friends.

It's not you, it's me.

February 27, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

9 Comments

  1. Green Gal (Melissa) replied:

    Haha great post, Katie! You have a great writing style. Best of luck with your taco-less diet… I don’t think I could do it, myself 🙂

    • kcrownover replied:

      Thanks a bunch Melissa! Living in southern California I’m sure you understand the importance of tacos.

  2. the hungry irishman replied:

    giving up what you love for p90x is rough, but I’m sure you’ll do fine. the “first kiss” must be hard to look at, no need to torture yourself

    • kcrownover replied:

      Thanks for the support. I’ll try and keep it in mind as I’m crying over my protein shake.

      • the hungry irishman replied:

        ha! I’m about to start it up for the second time after a looooong absence from discipline. at least you know someone else is drinking a half protein half saline shake

  3. liftingasweclimb replied:

    Well, moderation in all things. Perhaps a quarterly trip and fewer tacos?

  4. Sara Nitikman replied:

    You are a brave, brave soul Katie Crownover. Far braver than I. Keep that in mind the next time I’m eating ice cream in front of you, k? 😉 lol You’ll also be stronger and skinner than me though so you’ll once again have the capability of breaking me with half of your pinky so .. I’m sure you can take comfort in that :)… *ice cream cone falls to the ground as the amazing Katie breaks my arm with the power of her mind muscles* lol

  5. Cate Williams replied:

    Oh, Taqueria. They will miss our business. I hope we meet again someday, delicious carne asada burrito….*cries*

    • kcrownover replied:

      I think the drive through man is going to miss our weekly visits. And the way we say horchata.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

