Making Pizza: Because the people at Valentino’s know my name.

Here’s a quick tip of the day for you. Always buy produce with a plan. Otherwise, you may wind up in this situation:

The sad thing is, I didn’t throw the onion away after taking this picture. I think it’s because I once saw an episode of gumby where his house was taken over by a giant plant, and I always thought it was kind of cool. So I’ll keep you posted on that.

Now, let’s get down to business. (5 points to anyone who finished that with; to defeat the Huns)

I love pizza. It’s one of the few foods that tastes good no matter what time of day you eat it. It’s also a fairly good gauge of your emotional state. Having a good time with friends? Eat one piece. Sitting home alone watching 30 rock and drinking two buck chuck? Eat the whole pizza. I’ve had to cut back on my pizza recently, since I’ve realized that all the main delivery places in Orange now know me by name and sight.

Awkward.

I’ve always wanted to make my own pizza, and I finally got the opportunity this weekend. Trader Joe’s sells pizza dough, sauce, mozzarella cheese, and pepperoni, all in the same aisle. Go there at your own risk.

I preheated the oven, and got a little pumped to try my dough tossing skills.

This is what I expected:

This is what happened:

I promise I'm wearing pants.

In the end, I ended up doing the cheater method and let gravity do all the work.

It turned out surprisingly circular. I dropped a big dollop of pizza sauce on top (since I believe that’s where 80% of the flavor comes from).

Clearly when I say circular, I mean slightly deformed.

I added the cheese by making it snow on my pizza.

I make it rain....cheese....

Then I covered it in pepperoni. Originally I made a smiley face for you guys:

But then I realized that was a waste of prime real estate.

The pizza baked for about ten minutes at 450 degrees.We used this opportunity to make mini pizzas out of the remaining cheese, sauce, and pepperoni. We didn’t take pictures because, well, it’s a little sad.

But there is nothing sad about this:

YES

We were so hungry. It was so delicious. Between the two of us, we ate the entire thing:

She burnt off the pizza by trying to capture the pictures of my dough tossing. What a champ.

I went pretty basic here, but I’d love to know what all of you like to put on your pizza.  Please, send me your dough tossing attempts. Try not to get it on the ceiling.

Happy Monday everyone (what’s left of it)!

April 30, 2012. Tags: , . Cooking.

10 Comments

  1. jenslettersfromcamp replied:

    I like to make fancy-pants yuppie pizza. Like grated white cheese (sharp white cheddar or asiago) and a few fresh mozzarella balls, fresh basil, marinated artichokes, smoked sea salt, olive oil (a drizzle instead of red sauce), and maybe some arugula. When I’m feeling sassy I crack an egg on top (yes. I’ve gone there. and it’s called Delicioustown) and let it set just a little so the yoke is still soft. Then you drizzle yoke goo all over your pizza. Helloooo happiness.

    It’s sassy-hipster-yuppie-north-berkeley-pizza. I’ll make you one if I can ever get you to my place. Yum yum 🙂

    Love reading your blog, as always.

    Many snuggles and hugs,
    Jen

  2. Jane Litchfield replied:

    Fresh figs, goat cheese and arugula. 🙂

  3. Byrdie Grey replied:

    Five points for me! 🙂

    My favorite pizza is Hawaiian. So pineapple, cheese and Canadian bacon. However, I also love pizzas with unusual ingredients, like apple, or goat cheese, or arugula, or golden potato. Actually all those things sound delicious together! I live right across the street from an Arizmendi’s, so I’m used to strange and wonderful pizzas.

    • kcrownover replied:

      I don’t know why, but I’ve always avoided Hawaiian pizza. Maybe I’ll have to give it a try!

      • Byrdie Grey replied:

        It’s really delicious, just the right mix of salty and sweet with the creaminess of the cheese to even it out. As long as you’re not allergic to pineapple. 😛

  4. jenslettersfromcamp replied:

    I like to make fancy-pants yuppie pizza. Like grated white cheese (sharp white cheddar or asiago) and a few fresh mozzarella balls, fresh basil, marinated artichokes, smoked sea salt, olive oil (a drizzle instead of red sauce), and maybe some arugula. When I’m feeling sassy I crack an egg on top (yes. I’ve gone there. and it’s called Delicioustown) and let it set just a little so the yoke is still soft. Then you drizzle yoke goo all over your pizza. Helloooo happiness.

    It’s sassy-hipster-yuppie-north-berkeley-pizza. I’ll make you one next time you’re in Berkeley. Yum yum 🙂

    Love reading your blog, as always.

    Many snuggles and hugs,
    Jen

  5. liftingasweclimb replied:

    There is nothing as intoxicating as freshly made pizza.

    Normally, I’m Trader Joe’s all the way but I must say that Whole Paycheck has a remarkable pizza dough. When it fills the plastic bag, it’s ready to go.

    For an informal get together you can do pita pizzas. Trader Joe’s pita (whole wheat or white), pizza sauce, then choices for toppings. I usually put out olives, onions, shrimp, avocado, garlic, green/yellow/red peppers and turkey sausage. Toaster oven or main oven 8-12 minutes.

    Every one gets what they want, piping hot.

    • kcrownover replied:

      Whole foods is such a dangerous place for me. I get excited, and I want to buy everything I see…it all looks so delicious!

      • liftingasweclimb replied:

        No need to worry. The very, very high prices will cool your jets.

        $6 for a small container of melon? Really?

        But hey, it does give their employees benefits. Huge plus.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

