Cup+Cake

I have a problem when it comes to cupcakes. I’m pretty sure that cupcakes are the reason I’ll never be an Olympian. At least that’s what I tell myself.

There are times when I’ll be sitting in my room, minding my own business, and the cupcake craving will attack. It’s unstoppable. I’m the reason cupcake vending machine exist.

So when I found out that you can make a cupcake in a mug, you can imagine it was a pretty good day.

CUPCAKE IN TEN MINUTES

The recipe for mug cake is super straightforward. I used this one (http://www.food.com/recipe/magic-chocolate-mug-cake-microwave-322553) by Zurie, but there are lots of options out there.

CAKE IN A MUG:

4 tablespoons flour

4 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1/8 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 egg beaten

3 tablespoons milk

3 tablespoons oil

2 -3 drops vanilla

First, I mixed all the dry ingredients in a small bowl. It looked super artistic, and I had one of those ‘why yes, I am a food blogger’ moments, until I realized I had added 4 tablespoons of cocoa instead of 2.

Don’t bake when you’re sleepy, folks.

Next I added the egg. I continued my streak of swell baking moves when I realized that I was supposed to beat the egg before adding it to the dry mix.

PROBLEM SOLVING!

Success.

Seriously. Cooking is for the awake.

I added the rest of the wet ingredients, and realized that it’s finals week. Finals week means no clean spoons in the house. So I found a plastic one. They really don’t work very well.

Also, pre-mixed, this looked disgusting.

The word snart comes to mind. *

Laaaaadies?

Next I attacked a tall mug with pam.

You’ve been PAMMED.

Too much Pam.

I poured the mix into the mug, and had a stroke of brilliance.

Yeeeeees.

Carmel center. Oh boy.

I microwaved the mix for two minutes and thirty seconds.

I’m going to go blind from this.

That thing climbed like spiderman (who is in the wash, and will return shortly). I tried to take a picture to show you how tall it got, but it’s a little hard to see through the microwave.

It deflated quite a bit when I took it out.

I had a second good idea.

I really don’t know why I make this face all the time.

I think it’s to keep people away from stealing my food.

This is where things got weird. Remember good idea number 1? The caramel center? I definitely put in a square of caramel. But it disappeared in the baking process.

Can has?

Other than this rather large disappointment, the cake was delicious. I highly recommend trying it out at home, and please send me your results!

Happy Monday.

P.S. There is a girl who takes all the pictures for my blogs, who I could not function without. It was her birthday this past weekend, and she looked like a princess. For all the times I’ve kept you from your homework, Caitlyn, I thank you. You’re the tops.

P.P.S. My brother graduated college this weekend, and that was kind of cool too.

Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/magic-chocolate-mug-cake-microwave-322553#ixzz1uuQOhfCu
May 14, 2012. Tags: , . Cooking.

One Comment

  1. Denise Williams replied:

    I am seriously going to try this recipe and I love the faces you make. One of the million things that make you so darn lovable!
    Denise

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

