Lazy Pasta

I don’t know if anything is more stressful than moving. I got a little misty when I was packing up the old kitchen-there are a lot of good memories there, including the creation of this blog. Our new kitchen is even smaller than the last one (believe it or not) but the appliances are much, much better. For example, the stove doesn’t lean.

I’ll repeat that. THE STOVE DOESN’T LEAN.

I can’t express how satisfying it is to pour olive oil in the pan and not have it puddle on one side. My sketch factor just went way down.

This stove is sexy, and it knows it.

I’m also in love with the refrigerator. It’s twice as big as our last one, and there are no “leave me here to rot” drawers.

It’s surprisingly snuggly.

After a long few days unpacking, no one particularly felt like cooking. It’s times like these that I like to resort to lazy pasta.

LAZY PASTA

1 box penne pata

1 jar newmans tomato sauce

1 large frozen chicken breast

1 square frozen bazil

Red pepper flakes to taste.

I start by defrosting a large chicken breast, and cooking it on my panini press. You can season it with garlic, but the one I got from target (who knew) came pre-seasoned.

Is it just me, or does that look a little bit like America?

I slice it into strips, and set it aside.

Cooking pasta is fairly straight forward. A little salt, a little olive oil, ten minutes, and you’re in business. Drain it, and you’re good to go.

It’s a spa for noodles.

Draining the pasta is easy, unless your strainer decides to rebel.

Yes.

No.

This is where the truly lazy part comes in. Rather than whipping up a delicious tomato sauce from scratch, I cheat.

Enter Newman’s Own.

Ours is a forbidden love.

It makes for a great base, and with a few additions it’s actually quite good. I like to warm the chicken in the bottom of the pot, add the sauce, and stir in the cubed basil and pepper flakes.

Cubed frozen basil is one of my new favorite things. I don’t have the time to keep a fresh basil plant alive, so I buy it frozen from Trader Joe’s. It’s delicious, and far more cost effective in the end. I use the frozen garlic as well, but I didn’t have any on hand this time.

Anyway, once the sauce is warm I add a healthy dose of red pepper flakes (we like things spicy) and stir in the pasta.

The whole process takes about 20 minutes, and makes plenty of food. Serve with a little wine, and relax.

Happy Wednesday everyone!

 

This kitchen is a bit less plankable.

June 27, 2012. Tags: , . Cooking.

6 Comments

  1. Sean Breslin replied:

    I do this all the time when I’m in a hurry…don’t worry, it’s a perfectly legitimate meal!

    • kcrownover replied:

      I’ll bet Martha Stewart does it in secret all the time. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. Mark Crownover replied:

    nice pasta, and nice apartment missy. dad

  3. Jen replied:

    me loves your new apartment and the two babes living in it 😉

  4. Steven replied:

    Something at work reminded me of you and made me miss you and Caitlyn. So, after work, I spent about an hour reading the entirety of your blog. I have indeed been missing out! You’re a fantastic writer and quite the li’l chef!
    Miss you metric tons!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

