Something Fishy- Part Two

Oh friends, I’m so sorry to have been gone so long. This summer has been crazy in the best way, but I feel like a jerk for leaving you on a cliffhanger. I won’t keep you any longer with excuses- let’s just jump back in where we left off.

Remember this fellow?

If you missed the last post, or maybe just forgot, here you go: https://cookingcrownunder.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/something-fishy-part-one/

So, what did I do with that fish?I baked him in a mound of salt (which was quickly dubbed the toasty fort of sodium).

It was actually very simple, and ended up being much easier than cleaning the fish in the first place. The hardest part was getting enough salt out of the box.

This shouldn’t take too long.

This is taking forever.

And this isn’t helping.

Maybe I’ll start a Sudoku….

…yeah I’m not gonna finish that.

DERP THERE’S A BIGGER SPOUT.

Which is worse than the other one.

Problem solving!

Yeahhhhhhh buddy!

My college degree at work.

Once I got past the salt debacle, the rest was straightforward. I mixed the salt with egg white, oregano, thyme, and whatever addictive drug they put in that Italian seasoning.

I recommend a bigger bowl.

I made a bed of salt, and layered lemon slices and bay leaves on top. I stuffed the fish with a few more lemon slices, and laid him on top.

His fin totally didn’t fit.

I took the remaining salt and covered him with it, packing it in tightly. Then I popped him in the oven for about 35 minutes. When it came out, the salt had hardened into a thick shell.

Which I cracked, after a lot of flailing.

There is something enormously satisfying about lifting large slabs of salt off your dinner.

Once I broke him out of his carbonite prison, all I had left to do was transfer him to a cutting board and make a little rice.

Yup, that’s two star wars references in two lines. Deal with it folks.

Making this dish was too much effort for a regular night, but I’m glad I had the experience. Maybe next time I’ll take it a step further, and catch the fish myself.

See you around the interwebs!

October 8, 2012. Tags: , . Cooking.

4 Comments

  1. Tamara Crownover replied:

    But how did it taste?

    Sent from my iPad

  2. FatSquirrel replied:

    Don’t think I’ve ever seen a dish that required a whole box of salt.

    • kcrownover replied:

      And it was surprisingly not very salty!
      Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Denise Williams replied:

    You are adorable and hilarious and I love that you tried this, cause I never would! That’s what makes your blog so much fun…plus you feed my baby girl and you guys have so much fun together! Another excellent blog!!
    Denise

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

